The portal offers the possibility to automatically roll out SSH keys of portal users, who are members of your team, to the different servers. Under “SSH User keys” it is explained how you can do this as a user.
If you remove a team member from your team, all SSH keys associated with this use of the servers will also be removed. So you know for sure that the right people have access to your server!
In some cases this behavior is not desired. In that case it is possible as Owner or Administrator in the Security menu (tab: SSH Keys) to turn this functionality on or off per server. If you turn the option off, you will have to manually add keys to the dbt. ~/.ssh/authorized_keys files.
Furthermore, it is important to know:
- Only available for HPW servers
- Existing keys in ~/.ssh/authorized_keys will be overwritten
- This is a global action, so all environments on a server will get the same keys
- Only keys of users with the Owner, Administrator or Developer role will be rolled out
- Existing servers have the SSH key deployment option disabled, new servers (after March 2023) have this option enabled by default
SSH User Keys
As a portal user you have the option to add up to 5 SSH (public) keys to your account. If you have
the right role in your team your keys will be automatically rolled out to the dbt. servers and you can log in immediately (often within 15 minutes).
Only ssh-ed25519 and ecdsa-sha2-nistp256 are accepted as key type (not ssh-rsa!). If you don't know how to create an SSH key, here is an example:
- ssh-keygen -t ed25519 -C "description of your key"
We always recommend setting a password on your private key for extra security. The information you need is in the newly created .pub (eg: ~/.ssh/id_ed25519.pub) file.